Our Mission

Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners will provide  professional, compassionate and timely collection of forensic evidence for survivors of sexual assault or rape.

Read More
Thank you
for visiting our page!
Central Dakota Forensic Nurse Examiners Sites
​in Central and Western ND

The first community based Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner or SANE program began as part of the Abused Adult Resource Center (AARC) in May 2001, when a Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) had finalized protocols and began looking for funding for SANE nurses.  In August of 2002, the AARC received a Bush Grant for a SANE program and STOP funding to provide training to 6 Registered Nurses. 
In 2003, those 6 nurses started performing the Medical/Forensic exams in the Bismarck/Mandan region.
In December 2013, the SANE program changed their name to the Central Dakota Forensic Nurse Examiners (CDFNE) and gained 501c(3) status.  The CDFNE has expanded into Minot, Dickinson and Williston.  These programs cover a total of 23 Counties in western and central North Dakota, with a total of 27  nurses are currently trained to practice as SANE, in Western North Dakota.

What is a Sexual Assault  Nurse Examiner (SANE)?

A Specially trained Registered Nurse who:

· Provides services in a manner that avoids further trauma to the sexual assault survivor in the healthcare environment.
· Provides a timely medical/legal exam to collect forensic evidence  according to state and national protocols.
· Provides a consistent caregiver throughout the forensic examination.
· Provides consistent discharge instructions and referrals for follow-up care and counseling.
· Operates as part of the community Sexual Assault Response Team (SART), along with Law Enforcement and Advocacy.
· Provides 24-hour services